Worksite Leaders

Role of a Worksite Leader

Organizer. Our job is to build an active, united and involved membership in our workplace. Our ability to improve conditions is based on the collective power of our membership. Some things you can do are:

  • Welcome new employees and let them know how they can become involved
  • Ask fair share members to join our union
  • Find ways to involve more members in the activities of our union

Educator and Communicator. The most effective form of communication is one-on-one workplace conversations. Flyers, emails and meetings are all important, but the best way to inform members, get feedback, and encourage participation is through personal contact and sustained relationships.  You can:

  • Listen and learn about members’ problems and concerns
  • Educate workers about our union, their rights under the contract, and how their involvement is important to making change
  • Be a link between the membership and officers

Problem-Solver. We are the people our co-workers turn to with problems and we should be prepared with various strategies for solving them. Ways to problem solve:

  • Mobilize members to solve problems as a united group
  • Work with LCCEF leadership to solve problems

Leader. We are builders of unity in the workplace. We motivate our co-workers to be a part of the solution and lead by example. We can:

  • Help create a harmonious  and happy workplace, and union culture
  • Build unity – find common ground on problems that may divide our co-workers
  • Make sure everyone has the opportunity to be involved in our union

 

Worksite Leaders Materials:  LCCEF Worksite Leader Handbook 2017-2018

 


LCCEF Worksite Leaders:

Amy Burbee- Burbeea@lanecc.edu
Von Young- Youngv@lanecc.edu
Frankie Cocanour- Cocanourf@lanecc.edu
Jeffrey Nutting- Nuttingj@lanecc.edu
Ed Earl- earle@lanecc.edu- (perhaps still WSL)
Mike Zimmerman- zimmermanm@lanecc.edu
Claudia Riumallo- Riumalloc@lanecc.edu
Andy McClure- McClurej@lanecc.edu
Kathryn Blair- Blairk@lanecc.edu
Amy Sanderson- Sandersona@lanecc.edu
Tim Hannigan- Hannigant@lanecc.edu
Nannette Mcgie- Mcgien@lanecc.edu
Danielle Nichols- Nicholsd@lanecc.edu
Patricia Singleton- Singletonp@lanecc.edu
Cynthia Brown- Brownc@lanecc.edu
Colin Vurek Vurekc@lanecc.edu
Rodney Brown- Brownr@lanecc.edu
Zhasmene Bowles BowlesZ@lanecc.edu
Marsha Sills Sillm@lanecc.edu
Alen Baret- Bahreta@lanecc.edu
D'Ante Carter- carterd@lanecc.edu
Mark Jordon- jordonm@lanecc.edu